

P.O. Box 2008, New Britain, Connecticut 06050 (203) 827-7700

Chairman of the Board

RESOLUTION

honoring

SOUTHERN CONNECTICUT STATE UNIVERSITY SOCCER TEAM

December 7, 1990

WHEREAS,	Southern Connecticut State University Soccer Coach Ray Reid
	led his team to the 1990 National Collegiate Athletic
	Association Division II National Championship; and

WHEREAS,	Assistant coaches Bob Dikranian, Brian Quinn, John Deeley
	and David Smart aided in the preparation and training of
	Southern's championship team: and

WHEREAS,	Team members Bo Oshoniyi, Steve Pereira, Kurt Kavanaugh,
	Reynold Martin, Lawrence Piturro, Nick Booth, Rob Tonewo,
	Stefan Huebner, Gary Cronin, Sean Stowick, Rich Wisdom,
	Hans Etienne, John DeBrito, Cordt Weinstein, Mizafer
	Ismaili, Yohann Tesema, Henrik Svartborn, Chris Payne, Rudy
	Meredith, Joe Barroso, Chris DaSilva, Lee Hanvey, Anthony
	Cristaudo and George Kiefer defeated Seattle Pacific
	University 1-0 in the championship game on Saturday,
	December 1, 1990, in Melbourne, Florida; and

WHEREAS,	Southern Connecticut State University became the first team
	in NCAA soccer history to win a championship in Division I
	or II with an unbeaten record of 22-0-1; and

WHEREAS,	The	22	wins	establis	shes	a	New	England	record	for	most	wins
	in a	si	ingle	season;	and			_				

WHEREAS,	Team members John DeBrito, Gary Cronin, Kurt Kavanaugh,
	Sean Stowik and Yohann Tesema have helped Southern win
	national titles in both 1987 and 1990; be it

RESOLVED,	That the Board of Trustees for Connecticut State University
	heartily congratulates Coach Reid, his assistant coaches,
	and players for their accomplishments; and be it further

RESOLVED, That Southern Connecticut State University's soccer program is recognized in its division as the best in the nation for 1990.

A Certified True Copy:

L. J. Davidson, Chairperson

Dallas K. Beal, President

