BR#90-123



P.O. Box 2008, New Britain, Connecticut 06050 Phone: (203) 827-7700 Fax: (203) 827-7406

## RESOLUTION

## honoring

WOMEN'S SOFTBALL TEAM

## at

## EASTERN CONNECTICUT STATE UNIVERSITY

September 7, 1990

- WHEREAS, The Eastern Connecticut State University Fastpitch Softball Team competed in the Northeast Regional and National NCAA Championship Tournaments at Willimantic and Storm Lake, Iowa between May 11 and 21, 1990, and
- WHEREAS, The Team won the regional championship by defeating Southeastern, Massachusetts and Bridgewater, Massachusetts twice, and
- WHEREAS, The Team, competed in its tenth straight national tournament, defeating Luther (Iowa) College, Calvin (Michigan) College and Trenton (New Jersey) State twice while losing once to Central (Iowa) College to come from the loser's bracket and finish in first place, and
  - WHEREAS, Diana Pepin, Suzanne Warner, and Christia Mohan were named to the National All-Tournament Team, and
- WHEREAS, The Team, under the leadership of NCAA Division III National Coach of the Year, Jeff Anderson, completed its 1990 schedule with a record of 34-5, now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the Board of Trustees of Connecticut State University extends its congratulations to the Eastern Connecticut State University Fastpitch Softball Team on earning honors as NCAA Division III National Champions for 1990 and also acknowledges that this achievement is Eastern's fifth National Championship in the last ten years.

A Certified True Copy:

Dallas K. Beal President

