

THE CONNECTICUT STATE UNIVERSITY

P.O. Box 2008 • New Britain, Connecticut 06050 • (203) 827-7700

RESOLUTION

concerning

SEYMOUR M. SMITH

June 17, 1983

WHEREAS, Mr. Seymour M. Smith was originally appointed to the Board of Trustees for the Connecticut State University by Governor Thomas J. Meskill in 1973, and was reappointed by Governor Ella Grasso in 1979, and

WHEREAS, Having served as a Trustee for a decade, Mr. Smith has found his personal responsibilities to have reached a level which required him to resign from the Board, and

WHEREAS, Mr. Smith was elected by the Board to serve as its Secretary and held that office from 1974 to 1977, and

WHEREAS, He was a member of the Trustees' Budget Committee from 1973 to 1980, chaired that Committee from 1975 to 1979, served as a member of the Executive Committee from 1973 to 1979, and as a member of the Planning Committee from 1980 to 1983, and

WHEREAS, All Trustees deeply appreciate Mr. Smith's many contributions to the work of the Board, and

WHEREAS, All Trustees regard him highly as a person and as a colleague, now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Trustees for the Connecticut State University express to Mr. Seymour M. Smith their affection for him as a person and inform him of the high esteem in which he is held by all members of the Board, and be it further

RESOLVED, That the Trustees state their gratitude to Mr. Smith for his many years of excellent service to the Board, and wish him well in all his future endeavors.

A Cartified True Copy:

James A. Frost

Executive Director

Central Connecticut State University • New Britain.
Eastern Connecticut State University • Willimantic

Southern Connecticut State University • New Haven Western Connecticut State University • Danbury