

Connecticut State University System

39 Woodland Street = Hartford, CT 06105-2337 = 860-493-0000 = www.ctstateu.edu

BR# 09-52

RESOLUTION

Awarding the Title of

CHAIRMAN EMERITUS

to

Lawrence D. McHugh

July 23, 2009

- Whereas, Lawrence D. McHugh has served on the Board of Trustees for the Connecticut State University System selflessly, honorably and with distinction from 1983 through 2009, and
- Whereas, Lawrence D. McHugh was named Chairman of the Board of Trustees for the Connecticut State University System in 1995 after being appointed to the board in 1983 by Governor William O'Neill, and reappointed by Governor Lowell Weicker, Governor John Rowland and Governor M. Jodi Rell, and
- Whereas, On July 16, 2009, Chairman McHugh was appointed by Governor M. Jodi Rell to serve as Chairman of the Board of Trustees for the University of Connecticut, effective July 24, 2009, and
- Whereas, Chairman McHugh's unparalleled involvement and skillful leadership has defined Connecticut's largest public university system for a quarter century, spurring its transformation, growth, development, and earning him the esteem of colleagues and the respect and admiration of individuals across Connecticut and beyond, and
- Whereas, Chairman McHugh's unwavering and uncompromising devotion to students, faculty and staff has contributed significantly to the advancement of academic offerings, increased enrollment and the upgrade of facilities and infrastructure; now therefore be it

- Resolved, That the Board of Trustees for the Connecticut State University System extends its deepest appreciation, heartfelt thanks and best wishes to Chairman McHugh at this time and for years to come; and be it further
- Resolved, That the Board of Trustees for the Connecticut State University System hereby confers upon Lawrence D. McHugh the title, Chairman Emeritus of the Board of Trustees for the Connecticut State University System, with all the privileges pertaining thereto, effective July 24, 2009.

A Certified True Copy:

Karl J. Kranek, Vice Charman

David G. Carter, Sr., Chancellor